User cancelled but still got charged

Did a user reach out to you saying their card was charged after opting out of an auto-renewal? This is possible, and there are a few reasons why it happens:

  1. The user cancelled less than 24 hours before the subscription was set to renew. The Apple subscription terms require users to cancel subscriptions at least 24 hours before the next renewal.
  2. The user didn't actually opt-out of renewal. Some users will delete the app and expect the subscription to be cancelled.
  3. The user somehow has two subscriptions and cancelled only one of them. This is uncommon, but can happen if for example the user has multiple devices using different accounts.
  4. The user might have opted back in renewal after opting out.

Inspecting the Customer History timeline in RevenueCat can help determine which of these scenarios may have applied. It's important that you can communicate to your customer what may have happened, and help them get a refund if you see fit.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful